How I Got A Job – Another One of God’s Little Miracles


Sure, I can do this. Sure. Photo compliments of npclark2k http://mrg.bz/maI4Xd

I should rephrase the title. God’s miracles aren’t little. If someone gets up and starts walking again (with no medical explanation) after being in a wheelchair for years  or a person barely misses being hit by a semi-truck going out of control, people say a huge miracle has occurred. However, a miracle is a miracle. I’ve been blessed in my life with many miracles. I call them wondrous outpourings of God’s grace.

I need to get back to work again. After two years of not working because of being ill, it’s time. I’m not quite well enough to get a full-time job, and even a part-time job of 20 hours a week might be pushing it right now. So God sent me a job where I’ll be working six hours a week. This, combined with the writing and editing work I just received, will do just fine.

Here’s how the job happened. I went out to lunch at a new restaurant called “Mon Amie” in Spartanburg. For those of you who live here, it’s right across from Yanni’s on East Main Street. The place is decorated in French country style, all the ingredients are fresh, and the owners are the former owners of Billy D’s, a very popular, longstanding restaurant also in Spartanburg.

Anyway, my friend and I were talking. I gave her some advice. She had to go to the restroom. While she’s gone, the lady at the table next to me asked, “What kind of work do you do?” I told her I’ve been a writer and editor for the last 15 years, except for two years of teaching ESL in South Korea. “You speak very well,” she said. Then, “Do you do secretarial work?”

“Years ago I was a secretary and office manager, as well as being the business manager for a magazine for awhile,” I said.

“Well, we really need someone, but it’s only six hours a week.”

“That sounds perfect,” I said. We settled on the details of me going to their home to talk further (it’s a home-basied business). “Wow,” I thought, “it really does sound perfect…a great way for me to get back in the groove of working out of my house.”

Yesterday we sealed the deal. Only one hitch. Judy and Phil, the owners of the business, use an electric typewriter for invoicing. Yikes. I haven’t used one in years. As a matter of fact, I haven’t even used a regular computer keyboard for years. I use a natural keyboard, and find it difficult to type on my laptop.

Sunday night, I cried. “Have I really sunk so low as to have to work at this job?” I asked. Immediately I heard, “Be grateful and full of joy. I know your needs and will fulfill them as necessary.” My tears of pride turned into tears of joy, because I know God is taking care of me, even when I can’t take care of myself.

Also, yesterday I received an editing job from a Latino consulting engineer who is working in Vietnam. AND, I have three articles due for an online magazine this week. Life is good, so very, very good.

May you have a blessed day. Don’t forget to look for the miracles.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “How I Got A Job – Another One of God’s Little Miracles

  1. Julie

    Thank you for this wonderful piece, Ellie. I do think that God sends us messages (and miracles) at just the time we need them. You got the miracle you needed, and you gave me the message I needed. We have both been blessed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

