Flies in The Buttermilk, Shoo Fly Shoo


Credit: Free photos from acobox.com

Skip to My Lou

I woke up singing “Skip to My Lou” this morning. Only God knows why! I haven’t skipped in a long time, and that got me starting thinking about skipping, jumping rope, hopscotch, jacks, and marbles. (Oh, by the way, if you click on the “Skip to My Lou” link under the photo, you can listen to this old children’s song and see some kids actually doing it!)

Anyway, a lot of folks have nostalgic memories of their childhoods. It could be that you have some, too. Maybe you remember fishing with Dad while Mom read a book. Perhaps you recall having Mom and Dad come watch you play a not-so starring role in a school play. Decorating the Christmas tree, hardboiling the eggs for Easter, going trick or treating as your favorite character, or playing basketball in a vacant lot might be some of your favorite childhood memories.

On the other hand, some children have no happy memories, because they came from abusive homes or maybe had alcoholics or drug-addicts for parents.

Regardless of what type of upbringing and memories you have, I think that is why Jesus said (in Matthew 19:14), “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.”

There’s an amazing thing about children — they believe without questioning. It isn’t until we get older that we start questioning whether there really is a God, how a belief in God clashes with that of evolution, etc. (Truth is – many scientists believe in both God and evolution, but a lot of people don’t know that.) Little children trust that what you say is true. They believe in God unconditionally if you tell them about your God.

And as we get older, most of us forget how to play. If we play cards we have to have a beer in our hands. If we play basketball, it’s not just for the fun of it; it’s for the competitiveness of the sport. If we go fishing, it can often turn into a hassle because everything has to be perfect, and we take so much gear that it’s hard to really enjoy the day.

If our kids want to play with us, do we? Do we get down on our knees and compete with them on a video game, or do we sit down at the table and teach them better spelling by playing Scrabble?  If we want the children to go outside, do we throw the ball with a spirit of fun or do we get frustrated at them because they didn’t catch it?

And when it comes to God, what do we say to them? Do we even talk about God and our relationship with this amazing higher power? Or do we just take them to church and hope they’ll absorb it? Or do we just not go to church, thinking that it really doesn’t matter anyway?

I remember teaching my beloved grandson how to jump in a puddle after the rain. His mom, my darling daughter, was none too pleased with the wet pants, but he and I had a great time that afternoon.

Are you more intent on making sure your children grow up to be responsible adults than you are on allowing them to be children and participating in that time of innocence?

Maybe tomorrow you’ll buy a jump rope and use it with your children if they’re small. If they’re not, maybe you’ll pull out Trivial Pursuit or checkers and have some old-fashioned fun. And maybe when you do either of those things, you’ll wind up talking about God and how important your relationship with Him is.

Have a blessed day!

9 Comments

Filed under Family, Spirituality, Uncategorized

9 responses to “Flies in The Buttermilk, Shoo Fly Shoo

  1. I recently bought a jump rope! Funny how inside my head, I pictured myself jumping away the pounds when reality set in and I realized the last time I probably “jumped” like that was about forty years ago! lol.
    Thank you for your blog! Soooo glad I found it!

  2. I needed to thank you for this excellent read!!

    I certainly loved every bit of it. I have you bookmarked to
    look at new things you post…

  3. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I am quite sure I will learn lots of new stuff right here!

    Good luck for the next!

  4. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this article
    plus the rest of the site is extremely good.

  5. You could certainly see your expertise in the article
    you write. The sector hopes for more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe.
    At all times follow your heart.

  6. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site?
    My blog site is in the very same niche as yours and my users would really benefit from
    a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this ok with you.
    Thanks!

    • Please contact me via email: elliemk@gmail.com. I’d like to verify who you are. Your link goes to one site and then to St. Peter’s Lutheran Chuch site in Connecticut. Please send me your full name and phone number. Thanks for the compliment of wanting to share some of what I’ve written.

Leave a Reply

