Food, Glorious Food


Poster for the musical "Oliver"

Click here for the song, “Food, Glorious Food.”  It will open in a new window so you can enjoy the music while you read my blog!

Prednisone is the drug I love to hate. It opens my airways and makes me gain weight and want to eat all the time. So, I decided to write this blog about food, which we all love.

What’s your favorite food? If you had to pick one to take to a desert island (with no mango, papaya or banana trees), what would it be?

Think about it. Food defines us. It defines our relationships, our health and our looks. Healthy foods make you healthier, right? Well, what if that’s not necessarily right?

I’m proud to be a baby boomer. Back in the 50’s when I was growing up, a lot of families ate dinner together, and the dinner wasn’t from a drive through, not always so fast food place. It was made from scratch from fresh ingredients that weren’t filled with preservatives. Mac and cheese in a box? Heavens, no! Pizza at least once a week? God forbid. Soft drinks whenever we wanted them? Uh-uh. Pizza and soft drinks were a special treat, and what was more of a special treat was lemonade made from freshly squeezed fruit and sweetened with (oh my gosh!), REAL sugar. It didn’t rot our teeth, because we didn’t drink it all the time, and a candy bar was another special treat.

Okay. We ate real bacon, high cholesterol hamburger meat, and  real ice cream (was frozen yogurt even invented in 1955?). We didn’t drink bottled water, our parents made coffee in an electric percolator, and when Banquet introduced their frozen dinners, they were a hit sensation overnight that might be enjoyed once a month or so.

We played outside, went for bike rides and drew hopscotch squares on our driveways, on the street or on the sidewalk. The girls played jacks, the boys played with marbles. Steelies, cats’ eyes, and all sorts of beautifully colored little round other ones.

Commute traffic was so light in the Bay Area you could get to San Francisco from the Peninsula in 30 minutes or so. Is that right? I’m sure one of my devoted readers will correct me if I’m wrong, but that’s what I remember.

I was lucky. My mom didn’t work outside the home. But even moms who worked in jobs for real money cooked many meals at home.

It worked. We didn’t talk about how stressed we were all the time, but of course, families had secrets that were never talked about at all.

Have you decided what food you would take to the island yet? I haven’t.

Today I’m supposed to eat healthier so I can lose the drug I love to hate weight and get healthier. But I don’t want to! I want to eat chocolate ice cream and chocolate-covered pretzels, shortbread (my favorite) cookies, and gooey pizza (well, okay, my favorite is vegetarian). and lox with cream cheese, onions, capers, tomatoes on bagels.

But wait! I also love salads with tons of fresh veggies, broiled chicken with lemon and pepper, salmon with Dijon mustard and capers and all the delicious fruits of summer, such as peaches, watermelon and blueberries.

What’s a girl to do when surrounded by all this food and when supposed to make only “healthy” choices? Well, I’m a work in progress – doing my best to get healthy, but slipping away every now and then into food heaven.

Mostly, though, I’m just grateful that I have food and the money to buy it. So many don’t. I hope you had one of your favorite foods today.

3 Comments

Filed under Health, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Food, Glorious Food

  1. Not just a thoughtful post, but a question I can’t even answer. Country ham? Bacon? Can I take meat to my desert island. Living in Asia for 12 years has given me a pretty good idea of what I miss about the USA, but I haven’t been wracked with those food cravings that hit the usual expat. “OMG, there’s no cheese! Aaaggh!” None of that. I did miss fresh salads for a long time, but I can get those now. I guess I just don’t have a favorite. My cat does. Tuna. I’ve bicycled for hours to get it.

    • Hey Michael, what a great comment – checked out your blog too – much more likely to get work than mine! I lived in Korea for two years and LOVED it. I miss Korean food. I could have gone on and on about food tonight – but at over 600 words, I wonder how many people will read the whole thing? I had cravings for American food when I was in Korea at first. After that, I started eating almost strictly Korean food. Now I can’t get it here and have to make my own, but the best Asian food grocery store is 3 1/2 hours away! Yikes. Thanks for stopping by. I’ll look forward to when I have more time to really explore and learn something from your blog 🙂

  2. Thanks for liking my post! I got caught up in the nostalgia of this post more than anything–because I love nostalgia! I have a VERY restrictive diet due to my genetic disease, so I try to not dream about food anymore. However, I think one of my favorite things to eat (not on my diet!) came from the street food in Mexico when I was an expat: mango con chile (with lime). Sweet and sour and spicy! A little dance on your taste buds. Per the comments above, I never missed American food when I was abroad (yuck!). Lol. Per the fact that you lived in Korea, I miss kimchi, as well.
    A 🙂

Leave a Reply

