The REALLY Hard Decisions


Bootsie and Annie, my sweet pets

 

Life’s a bowl of cherries, right? Well, sure, but all cherries have pits, although some have their pits removed.

What’s the hardest decision you ever made? What was the outcome? I wish you’d share with me in the comments section or by email.

Maybe your hard decision was about letting someone go through divorce or otherwise. Perhaps it was about saying no to a child who kept depending on you. It could be that it was leaving a place behind and starting somewhere new. Maybe it was about turning off life support or selling a home.

When we’re young, the “hard” decisions seem like a piece of cake to us when we’re older. “What college should I attend?” “Do I want to accept this job or that one?” “Should I ask her to marry me on Valentine’s Day, or should I wait until the end of the school year?”

Looking back, those types of choices seem so easy to me today. Don’t worry about what college you’ll attend, just make sure you go. Take the job with the best benefits. Ask her to marry you on Valentine’s Day…it’s romantic. Smile.

But the older we get, it seems the harder the decisions get. So we talk with friends and/or family, research the heck out of it, and finally, it seems – in desperation – we talk to God. Sometimes we wait on God’s guidance and sometimes we don’t. I like it when I wait. The outcome of the hard decision always seems to have a bit of a glow on it then – God’s glow.

I’m facing a hard decision right now. Do I keep or let go of my two wonderful cats? My babies. My rescue babies. My precious kitties who know when I”m upset and who snuggle next to me every night. My fabulous animals who chase each other up and down the hall and then one of them will wait around the corner so she can pounce on the other.

Because, you see, this darned COPD is not well enough yet. And every night I cough, and every day the cat hair build up all over the house and I’m afraid my sweet babies are making/keeping me sick.

How do I make a decision like this? It’s certainly not necessary to talk with friends and family about it. I KNOW the right thing to do, because my doctor told me so and because of how I feel. I just don’t know how I can live without them.

Yep – I’ll turn this one over to God tonight. It’s too big for me. And I know that if I listen carefully, God will not only let me know what to do, but He’ll also give me the strength to do it and survive it, maybe feeling even better than I do today.

6 Comments

Filed under Feelings, Spirituality

6 responses to “The REALLY Hard Decisions

  1. Verdia Shingleton

    The hardest decision I had handed to me was to turn life support off on my first husband. We had been married 20 years and had three beautiful children together. It isn’t like on the movies. They do not pass quietly into the other realm. The body struggles and fights to live and it tears you apart…you want to go back and make it all stop, but once the decision is made…it is made.
    I’ve had to rehome pets before and it is never easy. You feel like the world’s biggest meanie, but you have to have to look out for your own health. They aren’t going to have a quality life if you are having to constantly seek health care or be in the hospital. I think you are right about knowing what must be done. Maybe you can find someone close that will allow visitations?
    Hugs to you Ellie…Prayers for strength…

  2. Verdia, thank you so much for leaving your touching comment. Yes, I knew that decision was hard, but I didn’t know they didn’t pass quietly. You’re a special friend and I so appreciate your prayers and hugs.

  3. Kellie Frissell

    Verdia is right, being born and dying are two of the hardest things we do. We’ve not had to rehome a pet either. I hope you are able to find someone who is specifically seeking pets from a situation like this. Let everyone you’re friends with know that this is what you are seeking to do. I bet the right person will surface. I hope you will feel better.

    • Kellie, you are SO sweet! I’ve had some great suggestions from people by email about how I might keep them. God is so good and is bringing me closer to a decision. Whatever it is, I trust Him! Hope all is well with you 🙂

  4. Judy

    Ellie, I am so sorry that you may have to find new homes for your kitty’s, that’s certainly not an easy decision. I’ve had to make some really difficult decisions over the years and you are aware of some of them. I really wish I could give you advise that would make it easier but only you can make the final decision. My thoughts and prayers will be with you in the hope that you find the strength necessary to take those steps.
    Lots of Love
    Judy

    • Judy, thanks for writing. Yes, I know about some of your difficult decisions, and I remember watching you make them and thinking how brave and grown-up you were! You’re one of my favorite people, and I hope to be coming down to Cave Spring toward the end of this month and will see you then!

Leave a Reply

