Here, Kitty, Kitty…


Annie after a hard day

My lovely lady calico kitties escaped the warmth and comfort of the home I have provided for them today. I think the ghost in the house opened the door to make their escape route quick and easy. Time and again I tried to cajole them back in before I had to leave for a couple of hours.

“Here, kitty, kitty,” I called. “Come on, Annie, get in here.” “Bootsie, why the heck are you outside. You know your food and water is not out there; it’s in here!”

All my cries were to no avail. I left to do my errands, putting them in God’s care before I hit the accelerator.

When I came back, only Bootsie was ready to re-enter our home so she could take her place at the head of the bed and sleep off her adventure.

Annie, on the other hand, remained outside. She’d walk up to the door, look at me and then turn on her heel, as if to say, “Listen. You just want me to come in out of the cold. But the problem is that it’s not cold yet. So let me go my own way, and when I’m ready, I’ll join you. Oh, by the way, make sure the cat litter is scooped and there’s fresh water, would ‘ya?”

I closed the door and started thinking about God. I don’t know why, I just did. And here’s what I thought. God calls us to come into the shelter of His arms. When we’re stuck in being stubborn, there’s often a quiet little voice that cajoles us to give our problems over to God. But we’re independent and think we know best, and we often only turn back to God when our plans didn’t work out the way we thought they should.

Sometimes, if we’re lucky, we try to discern God’s will for us, feel that we know it, and follow the directions we’re given to get to our destination. And we do it without a fight. We do it because we know that God is the only one who knows what’s truly best for us.

More likely, though, we’re like my cats. We draw close to God and then turn around so we can go the way we planned. And it isn’t until the end of the day that we come back home, just like my Annie did tonight, knock on the door with our prayers and ask God to let us back in.

No matter what you may be going through at this time in your life, don’t forget that you have the right to God’s love and care. It’s the most important thought you can hold at any time during the day or night.

8 Comments

Filed under Spirituality, Uncategorized

8 responses to “Here, Kitty, Kitty…

  1. Thank you. I enjoyed this very much! So true how we THINK we know the right way to go and we’ll try everything before we come wearily to his breast. If only we’d learn the lesson quickly!

  2. “We draw close to God and then turn around so we can go the way we planned.”

    This is a lovely post. And I think you are right. There’s the rub about free-will. I never thought about G-d as having to herd cats. That’s a tough job.

  3. transitionstande

    What a wonderful post. Thanks for sharing it.

  4. Thanks for stopping by my blog and the like Ellie. I enjoyed reading your blog and your thoughts. Blessings. Debra @ the gardengateproject.

  5. Ellie,
    I am glad you enjoyed my post on “Getting Rid of Fruit Flies and Gnats.” I am enjoying your blog as well and smiled when I read about your kitty’s. We have had up to three cats at one time. Funny thing, the oldest one is still living. I enjoyed your post on you r kitty because like yours, she loves on you when she wants to and ignores you when she isn’t needy. You have given me a new thought to consider when I see her, reminding me to make time throughout my day for my Maker, my Lord, and my God.
    Thank you,
    Sherra

  6. I havae to agree. We are like your kitties, like wandering sheep, the Bible says. God calls us, but He often has to wind up searching for us and carrying us back home.

    What love God has for us.

    Jean Hall
    http://www.write2ignite.com

Leave a Reply

